Virginia Multiple DUI Defense Attorneys
Penalties for a Second or Subsequent DUI/DWI in Virginia
Drinking and driving carries significant penalties—not just in regard to life or death but also criminally. Virginia is known to be one of the strictest states when it comes to criminal and traffic offenses. A first-time DWI in many cases will result in some jail time, as well as significant administrative penalties, including driver's license suspension and installation of an ignition interlock device.
However, a second subsequent DUI/DWI will result in even harsher penalties:
- If your second DUI/DWI is within five years of your first offense and your blood alcohol concentration is under 0.15%, there is a mandatory minimum requirement of 20 days in jail and at least a $500 fine. If you are convicted in court, your driver's license will be suspended for three years.
- If your second DUI/DWI charge is within five years of the first offense and results in a blood alcohol concentration over 0.15%, there is a mandatory minimum requirement of 30 days in jail and a fine up to $2,500. As with a first offense DWI, VASAP classes and an ignition interlock will still be required.
- If your second subsequent DWI is within 10 years of the first offense and your blood alcohol concentration is under 0.14%, there is a mandatory minimum requirement of 10 days in jail.
Contact Portner & Shure, P.A. for a Free Consultation
If you have been arrested for a second or subsequent DUI/DWI offense in Virginia, contact Portner & Shure, P.A. as soon as possible to discuss your case with an experienced Virginia multiple DUI defense attorney. Our firm offers legal services in multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Korean, and Chinese. We have more than 25 years of criminal defense experience and can help you fully understand your legal rights and options. Our team is prepared to aggressively advocate for you.
Contact Portner & Shure, P.A. online or by phone at (855) 954-4141 today to request a free, confidential consultation.