Injured in an Auto Accident? Don't Miss Your Chance to File a ClaimAuthor: Portner & Shure
Every state has a time limit or statute of limitations that prevents someone from being able to file a claim after a certain period of time has passed. In Maryland, there is a 3-year statute of limitations for auto accident claims, and the clock starts ticking from the date of the accident. There is also a 1-year time limit for being able to file a Personal Injury Protection (PIP) claim. PIP claims are important because that money can be used to pay for some, if not all, of your medical bills. That means that, when a settlement is reached or a verdict in court is awarded, that money can be given to you (after attorneys' fees are distributed). In other words, your settlement money will not have to be used to pay back medical bills because PIP already paid them.
Sometimes we have people who will call our office and tell us they were injured in an auto accident, they have been treating their injuries, and now they are ready to file a claim to collect compensation. Then, they will tell us that their accident happened 5 years ago. Unfortunately, there is nothing that can be done because they are well past the 3-year statute of limitations period in Maryland to be able to file a claim.
We always recommend to anyone calling our office for car accident injury consultations that it is very important to hire an attorney soon after an accident has occurred. We always want our clients to have plenty of time to file the necessary claims that can help maximize their compensation.
If you've been injured in an auto accident in Maryland, seek medical attention for your injuries and hire an attorney to represent you. Don't miss out on your chance to be compensated for injuries suffered in a car accident. Call us today for a free consultation: (855) 954-4141.