Your Recklessness is Another Family's Worst Nightmare

Portner & Shure Law Firm Serving Maryland, Virginia & Washington D.C.

Share:

After many drivers witnessed a Chevy Impala speeding excessively down MD 198, police were called to the scene of a head-on collision around 10 AM Tuesday morning in Laurel. The accountable driver blew through a red light causing a fatal accident as he skidded across the dividing line and collided with a Toyota Camry. Unfortunately the accident killed both of the drivers, the victim was pronounced dead at the scene while the driver at fault was flown to shock trauma where he died upon arrival. It is still unknown if he was under the influence of any drugs or alcohol, but it is known that he should not have been speeding in the slightest bit on account of his suspended license.

Drivers, it is important to consider not only the safety of yourself, but to think of other drivers on the road as well. In the state of Maryland statistics show that car accidents kill approximately 580 people every year. In addition to that number, there are about 36,680 who are injured annually in result of an accident. Always remember to watch your speed; driving 20 MPH over the posted speed limit is reckless driving. If you are going faster than 20 MPH over, the police officer does have the option to take your license and charge you with intent to kill. A reckless driving offense may leave you with a misdemeanor, as well as a fine of over $500, and caries 6 points. Never speed so fast you are finding it difficult to maintain control over your vehicle.

If you have a suspended license, you should not be driving at all unless you have been granted permission to drive within certain hours of the day. In this case it is crucial that you follow all traffic signs and signals to prevent revocation of your license. If you are caught driving and you have a class “H” suspension, this could add 3 points to your license, up to 60 days in jail, and a $500 fine. If you are caught driving with a class “C” suspension you could face up to a year in jail, 12 points added to your license, in addition to a $1000 fine.

If you or a family member have been injured or killed in a Maryland motor vehicle accident and would like to speak with an experienced attorney free of charge, contact our office at (301) 854-9000 to schedule an appointment at one of our office locations throughout Maryland or visit us online athttp://www.portnerandshure.com/Personal-Injury/

Category: